Atomic Structure

An atom is made up of 3 subatomic particles: protons, neutrons & electrons.

Protons carry a positive electrical charge. Electrons carry a negative charge. Neutrons carry no charge.

Protons & neutrons locate in the centre of an atom. Together they form the nucleus of an atom. Electrons move at high speed in shells surrounding the nucleus.